GeneSight Test: Part 1

Earlier this month, my Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner suggested that I submit DNA samples for GeneSight Psychotropic and GeneSight MTHFR combinatorial pharmacogenomic testing. What does that mean? Why would I want to do that? I’m glad that you asked! If you didn’t ask those questions in your head, feel free to move along.

According to their website,

“The GeneSight test analyzes a patient’s genes and gives healthcare providers information to help them select the medicine(s) that are more likely to work for an individual patient. GeneSight provides answers that can lead to a personalized treatment plan and faster response and remission for patients.”

They currently offer 4 tests:

  • GeneSight Psychotropic (for mood-altering prescription drugs used to treat depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and other behavioral health conditions)
  • GeneSight Analgesic (for prescription painkillers)
  • GeneSight ADHD (for prescription attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder drugs)
  • GeneSight MTHFR (tests how well your body can convert folic acid into its active form)

 

I decided to get tested because I have been struggling for over 16 years with finding medications that work well for me and don’t have intolerable side effects.

I have already typed out a really long blog post about my experience having the test done and my results and then I decided to break it up into manageable sections. Because who wants to stay up all night reading this? Probably not you. So, stay tuned for parts 2, 3, and maybe 4! And for now, get some sleep. Monday is going to come too early.

2 thoughts on “GeneSight Test: Part 1”

Leave a Reply

